Funds & Awards

The GSA Foundation manages more than 100 funds that support GSA Programs, Divisions, Sections, and Specialized Research Grants and Awards. Income generated by these permanently and professionally managed restricted endowments support donor-designated, specific purposes in perpetuity. GSA members, families, and organizations establish funds to honor careers and support programs important to them. Donors and organizations work with the Foundation to document the purpose of each fund and create a funding plan. The minimum funding commitment to establish a named fund is $50,000.

Please contact Debbie Marcinkowski to discuss your ideas about establishing a permanent fund.


If you know the name of the fund, type it in the field; otherwise, please select from the dropdown menus.

* Recently introduced.

Gary Fuis and Stacey Andrews Fund

Environmental and Engineering Geology Fund

Author's Fund

Claude C. Albritton Memorial Research Grant

Donald L. Biggs Memorial Education Award

Peter Birkeland Soil Geomorphology Award

Marland Pratt Billings and Katherine Fowler-Billings Research Award

John M. Birdsall Distinguished Lecturer Fund

John A. Black Research Award

Gretchen L. Blechschmidt Research Fund

Sam Bowring Geochronology Fund

Randolph W. and Cecile T. Bromery Award

Kirk Bryan Award

Gilbert H. Cady Award

Ian Campbell Award

Ian S.E. Carmichael Research Award

Christopher I. and Irene N. Chalokwu Travel Grant for Students in Africa

Bruce R. and Karen H. Clark Fund Supporting Geoscience Communication

Donald R. Coates Geomorphology Student Research Fund

Gladys W. Cole Research Award

Storrs Cole Memorial Research Award

Congressional Science Fellow

Continental Scientific Drilling Division Fund

Cordilleran Section Fund

Allan V. Cox Research Award

Curtis-Hedberg Petroleum Career Achievement Award

Doris M. Curtis Outstanding Woman in Science Award

Arthur L. Day Medal

Denton, Andrews, Porter Glacial Geology Award

John T. Dillon Research Award

Diodato Hydrogeology Student Travel & Beer Fund

Diversity and Inclusion Fund

Donath Medal/Young Scientist Award

Charles Lum Drake International Travel Grant

Shirley J. Dreiss Distinguished Lecturer Fund

Stephen E. Dwornik Planetary Geoscience Student Award

EarthCache - Let the Earth be your teacher!

Expanding Representation in the Geosciences Fund

Geobiology and Geomicrobiology Division Fund

Geoscience Education Division Fund

El-Baz Desert Research Award

El-Baz Research Grant

Peter T. Flawn Fund

John C. Frye Memorial Award in Environmental Geology

Geoarchaeology Division Fund

GeoCorps America Fund

36th International Geological Congress

Geophysics & Geodynamics Division Fund

GeoTeachers Program Fund

Howard R. Gould and Marilyn B. Gould Student Research Grant Fund

Hydrogeology Division Fund

Warren Hamilton Field Trips at GSA Annual Meetings

History and Philosophy of Geology Division Fund

Halbouty Distinguished Lecturer Fund

Richard Hay Award

Geology and Health Division Fund

Grant and Jody Heiken Research Grant in Volcanology

William B. & Dorothy Heroy Research Grant

Jack Hess Karst Research Award

Lincoln S and Sarah W. Hollister Graduate Student Research Awards

Arthur D. Howard Research Award

Hydrogeology Division Research Grant Fund

GSA International

Richard H. Jahns Distinguished Lecturer Award

Karst Division Fund

Brian G. Katz Environmental Research Grant in Groundwater Quality Enhancements

Kerry Kelts Research Award

Kohout Early Career Award

LaMoreaux International Lecture Fund

Stephen E. Laubach Research Award in Structural Diagenesis

Lipman Research Award

J. David Lowell Field Camp Scholarship Program

Robert L. Maby Fund

J. Hoover Mackin Research Award

John T. and Carol G. McGill Research Fund

Antoinette Lierman Medlin Award

Meetings Fund

Mineralogy, Geochemistry, Petrology, and Volcanology Division Fund

John Montagne Award

Marie Morisawa Award

Marine and Coastal Geoscience Division Fund

Pete Mouginis-Mark Prize in Planetary Volcanology

North-Central Section Fund

Northeastern Section Fund

Geological Society of America Foundation Operating Fund

Penrose Conference Fund

Penrose Medal

Petroleum Geoscientists Fund for Undergraduate Field Experience and Research

Troy L. Péwé Award

Planetary Geology Division Fund

GSA Policy Office

GSA Science Policy Fellow

Desmond & Judy Pretorius Field Forum Support

Publications Fund

Rip Rapp Archaeological Geology Award

Bruce L. "Biff" Reed Research Award

Rocky Mountain Section Fund

Michael R. Rosen Research Award in Limnogeology

Charles A. and June R.P. Ross Research Award

Shroder Mass Movement Fund

Soils and Soil Processes Division Fund

South-Central Section Fund

Southeastern Section Fund

Seth and Carol Stein Early Career Award in Geophysics and Geodynamics Fund

Structural Geology & Tectonics Division Fund

Stanley A. Schumm Research Grant Award

Roy J. Shlemon Mentor Program in Applied Geoscience

Roy J. Shlemon Research Award

Eugene M. and Carolyn S. Shoemaker Memorial Award for Crater Studies

Alexander Sisson Research Award

Laurence L. Sloss Award

Parke D. Snavely, Jr., Research Award

Geology and Society Division Fund

Harold T. Stearns Research Award

Arthur Sylvester Field Camp Scholarship Fund

Maurice "Ric" Terman Research Award

James B. Thompson, Jr., Award

Iris Moreno Totten Award

Lauren A. Wright & Bennie W. Troxel Research Award

Alexander and Geraldine Wanek Research Award

Tim Wawrzyniec Research Fund

Richard B. and Cynthia W. Waitt Research Award for Field-based Research

Dr. Thomas C. Winter Graduate Student Research Award

Template Information

The information below explains the type, use and design process for this template

Template Name:
Funds & Awards


Template Design:
This is an interpolated template. The design of the site will be applied to this template. There may be design revisions available, but this template will now follow an approval process.