News & Events

Please visit this page regularly for fund updates and to find out about new fund efforts.

George Davis is Regents Professor Emeritus and Provost Emeritus at The University of Arizona. He is a field-oriented structural geologist whose main focus has been on the tectonics of the Basin & Range and Colorado Plateau. In addition, since 2004, he has been carrying out tectonic and geoarchaeological research in Greece at the Sanctuary of Zeus, Mt. Lykaion, in the Peloponnese.  George has been the major research advisor for ~45 MS and PhD students, ~25 undergraduate majors, and has served on research committees for ~125 graduate students. His reach as a teacher has been extended through 3 editions of his textbook, Structural Geology of Rocks and Regions. George joined the faculty of the Department of Geosciences at The University of Arizona in 1970, and over the years held a number of academic leadership positions, including Department Head (1982–1986), Vice Provost (1986–1989), Executive on Loan to the Arizona Board of Regents (1988-89), Acting Vice President for Business Affairs (1989–1990), and Executive Vice President and Provost (2000–2007). In addition, George was President of the University of Vermont (1990–1992).

George received his BA degree from The College of Wooster, Ohio, subsequently receiving his MA degree from The University of Texas, Austin, and his PhD degree from The University of Michigan. Carleton College awarded him an Honorary Doctoral Degree in 2012. George’s honors, awards, and professional leadership contributions include Lindgren Citation Award for Excellence in Research (Society for Economic Geologists) (1971); GSA Fellow (1980); being named on 50th anniversary of Rackham Graduate School among The University of Michigan’s 100 most distinguished Ph.D. recipients (1988); UA Faculty of Science Distinguished Teaching Award (1985); American Association of Petroleum Geologists Distinguished Lecturer (1998–1999); UA Geosciences Outstanding Faculty Award (2002); Chair of National Science Foundation’s Advisory Committee on Atmospheric, Earth, and Ocean Sciences (2006–2009); Peter W. Likins Inclusive Excellence Award (2007); Career Contribution Award in the Structure-Tectonics Division of the Geological Society of America (2011); President of the Geological Society of America (2012); National Recipient of the Inspire Integrity Award conferred by the National Society of Collegiate Scholars (2012); and Distinguished Alumni Award from The College of Wooster (2016). With respect to GSA leadership experiences, he is most proud of helping to initiate On To the Future (OTF), and the J. David Lowell Field Camp Scholarship Program, both of which are significant priorities of GSAF.

Template Information

The information below explains the type, use and design process for this template

Template Name:


Template Design:
This is an interpolated template. The design of the site will be applied to this template. There may be design revisions available, but this template will now follow an approval process.