Funds & Awards

The GSA Foundation manages more than 100 funds that support GSA Programs, Divisions, Sections, and Specialized Research Grants and Awards. Income generated by these permanently and professionally managed restricted endowments support donor-designated, specific purposes in perpetuity. GSA members, families, and organizations establish funds to honor careers and support programs important to them. Donors and organizations work with the Foundation to document the purpose of each fund and create a funding plan. The minimum funding commitment to establish a named fund is $50,000.

Please contact Jeff Tyler to discuss your ideas about establishing a permanent fund.

If you know the name of the fund, type it in the field; otherwise, please select from the dropdown menus.

GSA Foundation Funds

Please feel free to click on the name to view further details and donate or use the dropdowns above to find a specific Fund.

GSA Programs

Author’s Fund
Congressional Science Fellow
Diversity and Inclusion Fund
Peter T. Flawn Fund
GeoCorps America Fund
Geological Society of America Foundation Operating Fund
GeoTeachers Program Fund
GSA Policy Office
GSA Science Policy Fellow
J. David Lowell Field Camp Scholarship Program
Robert L. Maby Fund
Meetings Fund
John Montagne Award
Penrose Conference Fund
Penrose Medal
Desmond & Judy Pretorius Field Forum Support
Roy J. Shlemon Mentor Program in Applied Geoscience
Arthur Sylvester Field Camp Scholarship Fund

Research Grants

Claude C. Albritton Memorial Research Grant
Victor R. Baker Graduate Student Research Grant Award
Peter Birkeland Soil Geomorphology Award
Marland Pratt Billings and Katherine Fowler-Billings Research Award
John A. Black Research Award
Gretchen L. Blechschmidt Research Fund
Ian S.E. Carmichael Research Award
Donald R. Coates Geomorphology Student Research Fund
Storrs Cole Memorial Research Award
Allan V. Cox Research Award
Denton, Andrews, Porter Glacial Geology Award
John T. Dillon Research Award
El-Baz Desert Research Award
El-Baz Research Grant
Gary Fuis and Stacey Andrews Fund
Howard R. Gould and Marilyn B. Gould Student Research Grant Fund
Grant and Jody Heiken Research Grant in Volcanology
William B. & Dorothy Heroy Research Grant
Jack Hess Karst Research Award
Lincoln S and Sarah W. Hollister Graduate Student Research Awards
Arthur D. Howard Research Award
Hydrogeology Division Research Grant Fund
Brian G. Katz Environmental Research Grant in Groundwater Quality Enhancements
Kerry Kelts Research Award
Stephen E. Laubach Research Award in Structural Diagenesis
Lipman Research Award
J. Hoover Mackin Research Award
John T. and Carol G. McGill Research Fund
Antoinette Lierman Medlin Award
Charles A. and June R.P. Ross Research Award
Shroder Mass Movement Fund
Stanley A. Schumm Research Grant Award
Roy J. Shlemon Research Award
Eugene M. and Carolyn S. Shoemaker Memorial Award for Crater Studies
Alexander Sisson Research Award
Laurence L. Sloss Award
Parke D. Snavely, Jr., Research Award
Harold T. Stearns Research Award
Maurice “Ric” Terman Research Award
Lauren A. Wright & Bennie W. Troxel Research Award
Alexander and Geraldine Wanek Research Award
Tim Wawrzyniec Research Fund
Richard B. and Cynthia W. Waitt Research Award for Field-based Research

Specialized Awards

Donald L. Biggs Memorial Education Award
John M. Birdsall Distinguished Lecturer Fund
Randolph W. and Cecile T. Bromery Award
Kirk Bryan Award
Gilbert H. Cady Award
Bruce R. and Karen H. Clark Fund Supporting Geoscience Communication
Gladys W. Cole Research Award
Doris M. Curtis Outstanding Woman in Science Award
Arthur L. Day Medal
Donath Medal/Young Scientist Award
Shirley J. Dreiss Distinguished Lecturer Fund
Stephen E. Dwornik Planetary Geoscience Student Award
John C. Frye Memorial Award in Environmental Geology
Halbouty Distinguished Lecturer Fund
Warren Hamilton Field Trips at GSA Annual Meetings
Richard H. Jahns Distinguished Lecturer Award
Kohout Early Career Award
LaMoreaux International Lecture Fund
Pete Mouginis-Mark Prize in Planetary Volcanology
Marie Morisawa Award
Petroleum Geoscientists Fund for Undergraduate Field Experience and Research
Rip Rapp Archaeological Geology Award
Bruce L. “Biff” Reed Research Award
Michael R. Rosen Research Award in Limnogeology
Seth and Carol Stein Early Career Award in Geophysics and Geodynamics Fund
James B. Thompson, Jr., Award

Division Funds

Continental Scientific Drilling Division Fund
Curtis-Hedberg Petroleum Career Achievement Award
Diodato Hydrogeology Student Travel & Beer Fund
Geobiology and Geomicrobiology Division Fund
Geoscience Education Division Fund
Geoarchaeology Division Fund
Geophysics & Geodynamics Division Fund
History and Philosophy of Geology Division Fund
Richard Hay Award
Geology and Health Division Fund
Hydrogeology Division Research Grant Fund
Karst Division Fund
LaMoreaux International Lecture Fund
Mineralogy, Geochemistry, Petrology, and Volcanology Division Fund
Marine and Coastal Geoscience Division Fund
Planetary Geology Division Fund
Soils and Soil Processes Division Fund
Structural Geology & Tectonics Division Fund
Geology and Society Division Fund

Section Funds

Cordilleran Section Fund
GSA International
North-Central Section Fund
Northeastern Section Fund
Rocky Mountain Section Fund
South-Central Section Fund
Southeastern Section Fund

Student Travel

Christopher I. and Irene N. Chalokwu Travel Grant for Students in Africa
Charles Lum Drake International Travel Grant
GSA International
Richard Hay Award
36th International Geological Congress

Template Information

The information below explains the type, use and design process for this template

Template Name:
Funds & Awards - Simplified


Template Design:
This is an interpolated template. The design of the site will be applied to this template. There may be design revisions available, but this template will now follow an approval process.